Payment records are most often generated automatically when payments are processed from the client portal, or when you mark an invoice as paid. When you mark an invoice as paid, a payment record is created for the full amount due on the invoice, and it is given a Transaction Record of "Manual Entry".
Generally a payment record has four statuses available. "Unapplied" when a payment has not been applied to anything, "Partially Unapplied" when there are credits remaining from that payment still not applied to an invoice, "Paid" when the full payment has been applied to an invoice, and "Refunded" when a payment has been returned to the customer. Note that any amount paid must be applied to something before it can be marked as "Refunded", which can greatly complicate recordkeeping of overpayment refunds. It would be best to avoid these situations.
Payment records are not a document type that gets printed and issued to the customer, instead an invoice gets marked as "Paid" when there is a payment record associated with it.
From the payment view panel you will see an overview of the status of the client's payment (or refund if one was provided), which invoice it was applied to and how much was applied, as well as the date of payment, transaction reference, and any private notes attached to the payment record.
You will have a button to Edit the payment record in the top right corner of the screen. You can use the kebab menu button next to that, to archive, or delete the payment record.
At the bottom of the Payment view panel, you have buttons to Apply a payment, or Refund a payment. A single payment can be applied to multiple invoices when entered manually in the admin portal in this way. Although you can issue partial refunds, remember that only "Applied" payment amounts can be refunded.
These are the fields are available when editing a payment to add detail for your records:
When manually entering a payment, all of the above fields apply, in addition to these below.
If a payment is created, assigned to a client, and given a value greater than 0 (zero), but not assigned or linked to an invoice, the payment is marked Unapplied.
You can apply one payment to multiple invoices. If you apply an Unapplied payment to an invoice with a balance lower than the payment amount, or if you allow overpayment on an invoice, the payment will be marked as Partial and you will be able to apply the remaining balance of the payment to another invoice. You can see the remaining balance of a partial payment when you view a payment details.
Completed Payments are fully applied to one or more invoices, and have no remaining value.
When viewing a payment, you can use the kebab menu in the upper right corner of the view panel to refund it. The payment will be unlinked from any invoices it has been applied to.
What happens when a payment is deleted?
Archiving a payment simply removes the payment from the payment list view. Archiving a payment keeps your list views clean and tidy.
Restoring a payment from the archived or deleted state will set the payment back to its previous state prior to archiving.
As of this moment, to pay with Apple, Google or Microsoft Pay a credit card needs to already be configured in your browser. This is not Invoice Ninja preference, but a platform choice.
Safari on desktop:
Safari on mobile:
Want to contribute? Edit this page on GitHub!