Quote records are used to provide your clients with accurate previews of what a quote might look like for requested products and/or services. Quotes can be generated as PDFs, viewed in the client portal by the client, and if agreed upon, they can be converted directly into quotes. Unless it is converted to an invoice, quotes have no effect on a clients balance or ledger.
Viewing, editing, or creating a quote is virtually the same as it is for a quote.
Quote records support a lot of detail and allow you to bill your clients for Products, Tasks, or Expenses. You can attach documents or pictures to quotes, which the client may view from the client portal. Quote records keep a history of when changes were made to them, and which users performed those changes, in order to increase accountability within your business.
Simply select a quote from the list, and you will see the quote details, in the mobile layout you will be taken directly to the quote view, in a desktop layout the view will appear on the righthand side.
From anywhere in the quote view, you will have the option to Edit the quote from a button in the top right of the viewing panel. You can use two buttons at the bottom of the view panel: View PDF in order to load a PDF of the quote directly from the admin portal, or Email Quote to email the client contacts a link to view and accept their quote from the client portal.
The Kebab menu in the uppermost right corner of the quote view presents many functions to work with or manipulate the quote, which can vary based on the state of the quote. You can change the status of the quote's lifecycle manually, clone the quote, view it directly from the client portal, and more.
From the overview panel, you will see general information about the quote. The amount of the quote, quoted balance owing, which client it is assigned to, the date of the quote, and any products or tasks included in the quote.
Here you see the contacts from your client that are marked as included in the quote. Included contacts will get a copy of the emails sent, and will be able to view the quote from the client portal when they sign in.
Also available are links to the client portal for each respective contact included.
Upload pictures or documents to your quote, to include for your client. Uploaded files can be viewed and accessed by the client through the client portal.
The History panel presents a chronological overview of transactions related to the quote, and shows you any changes made to the quote total amount, and by which users.
The Activity panel presents a chronological overview of any actions performed against the quote, including when it was created, edited, deleted, etc, and which user performed the action.
There are several fields available when filling a quote, and the view when creating or editing a quote is broken down a little differently depending on whether you are viewing things with the mobile layout, or desktop layout. In the desktop layout, all of the panels described below are presented at the same time on one big screen and laid out a little differently.
The Details panel includes the most basic information about the quote:
Contacts has it's own panel in the mobile view, while in desktop view this is shown directly under the Client field after you have selected a client.
This section simply presents a list of contacts available from a client record, and allows you to check or uncheck any contacts, to include or exclude them from the quote. Included contacts will be able to access the quote from the client portal, and will receive emails about the quote when they are sent.
Here you see a list of the line items included on the quote. You can add Products, Tasks, or Expenses to the quote to bill your client for. Each item on the list will have these fields available:
All under one panel in the mobile layout, these options each have their own tabs at the bottom of the quote screen when in desktop layout:
The Draft status is the first status in the lifecycle of a quote. In this status, changes can be made to the quote and the quote is hidden completely from the client. Draft quotes are inactive until either emailed to the client or marked as sent.
A quote is marked as sent when it has been emailed to the client or marked as sent in the admin panel.
A quote can be marked as deleted if the following conditions have been met
What happens when a quote is deleted?
Archiving a quote simply removes the quote from the quote list view. Archiving a quote keeps your list views clean and tidy.
Restoring a quote from the archived or deleted state will set the quote back to its previous state prior to archiving.
Want to contribute? Edit this page on GitHub!