Invoice records support a lot of detail and allow you to bill your clients for Products, Tasks, or Expenses. You can attach documents or pictures to invoices, which the client may view from the client portal. Invoice records keep a history of when changes were made to them, and which users performed those changes, in order to increase accountability within your business.
To view an invoice, select it from the list. The invoice details will appear in the mobile layout or on the right side in the desktop layout. From there, you can edit the invoice by clicking the "Edit" button in the top right corner.
At the bottom of the panel, you can also view the invoice as a PDF or email it to the client.
Additionally, the Kebab menu in the top right corner provides various options to manage the invoice, such as changing its status, cloning it, or viewing it from the client portal.
From the overview panel, you will see general information about the invoice. The amount of the invoice, balance owing, any amount paid, which client it is assigned to, the date of the invoice, and any products or tasks included in the invoice.
Here you see the contacts from your client that are marked as included in the invoice.
The checkbox next to each client defines whether they will receive the email notification. Contacts with the option Add to Invoices selected in Client Edit, will automatically be checked to receive invoices and quote emails.
Also available are links to the client portal for each respective contact included.
When you are editing an invoice/quote, the client's contact(s) will show up like this:
Upload pictures or documents to your invoice, to include for your client. Uploaded files can be viewed and accessed by the client through the client portal.
The History panel presents a chronological overview of transactions related to the invoice, and shows you any changes made to the invoice total amount, and by which users.
The Activity panel presents a chronological overview of any actions performed against the invoice, including when it was created, edited, paid, refunded, cancelled, etc, and which user performed the action.
There are several fields available when filling an invoice, and the view when creating or editing an invoice is broken down a little differently depending on whether you are viewing things with the mobile layout, or desktop layout. In the desktop layout, all of the panels described below are presented at the same time on one big screen and laid out a little differently.
The Details panel includes the most basic information about the invoice:
+10 the date will be set to ten days in the future and if you enter
-10 the date will be set to ten days in the past.
Contacts has it's own panel in the mobile view, while in desktop view this is shown directly under the Client field after you have selected a client.
This section simply presents a list of contacts available from a client record, and allows you to check or uncheck any contacts, to include or exclude them from the invoice. Included contacts will be able to access the invoice from the client portal, and will receive emails about the invoice when they are sent.
Here you see a list of the line items included on the invoice. You can add Products, Tasks, or Expenses to the invoice to bill your client for. Each item on the list will have these fields available:
All under one panel in the mobile layout, these options each have their own tabs at the bottom of the invoice screen when in desktop layout:
The Draft status is the first status in the lifecycle of a invoice. In this status, changes can be made to the invoice and the invoice is hidden completely from the client. A draft invoice does not affect the ledger nor does it change the client balance. Draft invoices are inactive until either emailed to the client or marked as sent.
A invoice is marked as sent when it has been emailed to the client or marked as sent in the admin panel.
When the invoice status is changed to Sent, the client balance increases by the invoice balance amount.
A invoice status of Partial means that a payment has been applied to the invoice but there is still a outstanding balance remaining on the invoice.
A invoice status of Paid means that full payment has been applied to the invoice. The invoice balance will be 0.
A invoice can be cancelled under the following conditions.
When a invoice is cancelled the invoice balance is set to zero and the status updated to Cancelled, the client balance is also adjusted down. If payments have been applied to the invoice these will remain linked to the invoice.
A invoice can be marked as deleted if the following conditions have been met
What happens when a invoice is deleted?
If the invoice has a balance remaining, in order to balance the ledger, we perform a Cancellation on the invoice first and then perform the deletion.
A invoice can be reversed under the following conditions
When a invoice is reversed the payment/s that have been applied to the invoice have a credit generated against them. The ledger is also adjusted as follows:
When a invoice has been reversed, the previous payments relationships are unlinked and cannot be restored.
Archiving a invoice simply removes the invoice from the invoice list view. Archiving a invoice keeps your list views clean and tidy and does not effect the ledger / client balance.
Restoring a invoice from the archived or deleted state will set the invoice back to its previous state prior to archiving.Want to contribute? Edit this page on GitHub!