Payment records are automatically generated when payments are processed from the client portal or when an invoice is marked as paid. When an invoice is marked as paid, a payment record for the full amount is created and labeled as "Manual Entry."
There are four possible statuses for a payment record: "Unapplied" for payments that have not been assigned to an invoice, "Partially Unapplied" for payments with remaining credit, "Paid" for payments that have been fully applied to an invoice, and "Refunded" for payments that have been returned to the customer. Note that any refunded amount must have been applied to an invoice first.
It is important to note that payment records are not printed or issued to the customer, instead an invoice is marked as "Paid" when there is a payment record associated with it.
The payment view panel displays an overview of the payment status, the invoice it was applied to, the amount applied, the date of payment, the transaction reference, and any private notes. You can edit the payment record using the "Edit" button in the top right corner and use the Kebab menu to archive or delete it.
At the bottom of the panel, you can apply or refund a payment. Keep in mind that a payment can be applied to multiple invoices when entered manually in the admin portal. Also, partial refunds are allowed, but only "Applied" payment amounts can be refunded."
These are the fields are available when editing a payment to add detail for your records:
When manually entering a payment, all of the above fields apply, in addition to these below.
If a payment is created, assigned to a client, and given a value greater than 0 (zero), but not assigned or linked to an invoice, the payment is marked Unapplied.
You can apply one payment to multiple invoices. If the payment amount is greater than the invoice balance, the payment will be marked as "Partially Applied" and the remaining balance can be applied to another invoice. You can view the remaining balance of a partial payment by viewing the payment details.
Completed Payments are fully applied to one or more invoices, and have no remaining value.
When viewing a payment, you can use the kebab menu in the upper right corner of the view panel to refund it. The payment will be unlinked from any invoices it has been applied to.
What happens when a payment is deleted?
Archiving a payment simply removes the payment from the payment list view. Archiving a payment keeps your list views clean and tidy.
Restoring a payment from the archived or deleted state will set the payment back to its previous state prior to archiving.
As of this moment, to pay with Apple or Google Pay a credit card needs to already be configured in your browser. This is not Invoice Ninja preference, but a platform choice.
Safari on desktop:
Safari on mobile: